Malawi is a densely populated country located in southeastern Africa. It has Zambia to the north-west,Tanzania to the north, and Mozambique surrounding it on the east, south, and west. Lilongwe, Malawi’s capital since 1971, has a population which exceeds 400,000. Chewas constitute 90% of the population of the central region; the Nyanja tribe predominates in the south and the Tumbuka in the north. A significant numbers of the Tongas also live in the north. Ngonis live in the lower northern and lower central regions; and the Yao live along the southeastern border.

Quick Facts

2008 Population 13,077,160

Average annual 2.8 %



Source; Malawi National Statistical Office

Hits: 21