Samoa is comprised of two relatively large islands, Upolu and Savaii (which account for approximately 96% of the total land area) and eight smaller islands. The capital Apia and Faleolo International Airport are located on the island of Upolu. Total land area is 2934 sq km. The islands are volcanic and dominated by rugged mountain ranges with a fringe of coral reefs and lagoons, which surround the islands. Western Samoa’s population is approximately 170,000.

Quick Facts

2011 Census Population: 187,820
2012 GDP (Million Tala): 1,574.2
2014 Inflation Rate %: -0.4
2011 Total Visitors: 45,022

Source: Samoa Bureau of Statistics

Hits: 37